Complex Made Simple

ADEC announces winners of the 2014 World Robotics Olympiad – UAE

World Robotics Olympiad-UAE 2014 was held on 30-31 May 2014. The final results of the Olympiad organized on 6 and 7 June, 2014 were announced by Abu Dhabi Education Council.

In elementary Regular Category competition, Khorfakkan Children’s Center- Sharjah was placed first; Kalba Children’s Center- Sharjah, second; and Dibba Children’s Center-Sharjah, third. In Junior school category, Al Tamayuz School- Al Ain, won the first place; Rashed Bin Humaid Model School, won second and third places. In high schools, American Community School-Abu Dhabi was placed first, Omar Bin Al-Khattab School-Dubai came second and Al Salam School- Dubai won the third place.

In the Open category competition, Our Own Indian School-Dubai won the first place; Siji School-Dubai, second; The Millennium School-Dubai, third; Repton Private School – Dubai, fourth; and Zayed Al Awal School – Al Ain, fifth.

In the Robot Football Category, Al Rigga Children’s Center-Sharjah was placed first; Sharjah Children’s Center, second and Rashed Bin Humaid Model School – Ajman, third

Dr. Najla Alraway Alnaqbi, e-Learning Manager at ADEC’s P-12 Policy Sector, said that the WRO competitions are one of ADEC’s major projects. “This comes in line with ADEC’s strategy aiming to provide students with world class technology education through robotics, enhancing their creative thinking and enable them to compete with their peers worldwide,” added Dr. Alnaqbi.

Al-Naqbi pointed out that WRO in the UAE has been growing rapidly since 2009, reflecting on students’ results during 2013 and Indonesia 2014 competition results. In 2014, we look forward to continuing this growth and developing the capacity of UAE students to participate effectively in robotics competitions that will be held in Russia on 15-17 November 2014 under the theme “Robotics and Space”.

The national competition attracted nearly 1350 students from all over UAE. They constituted 450 teams. The teams that made it to the national finals include 30 teams in the Open Category, and 24 teams in Football Category, in addition to 54 teams in the Regular Category, i.e. 18 teams from each of the three cycles.