Complex Made Simple

QU-CPH celebrates Ebn Sina Medical Scholarship winners, Dean List

Qatar University College of Pharmacy (QU-CPH) students Eman Zeyad Elmekaty (PharmD), Sadaf Riaz (MSc), Omaima Saeed Mahmoud (P4), Shaima Ali (P3) and Nawal BenSmail (P2) were presented with Ebn Sina Medical Scholarships at a recent ceremony to celebrate the proud students, as well as the 70 named on the Dean’s List.

It is the third year for the scholarship awards from H.E. Sheikh Faisal bin Qassim Al Thani, Chairman of Aamal Company Q.S.C. to recognize deserving PharmD, MSc Pharm and BSc Pharm students.

CPH Dean Dr Ayman El-Kadi congratulated the students saying, “These awards highlight your academic quality and excellence as well as the qualities you have exhibited to be valued members of the pharmacy profession and the healthcare sector in Qatar.”

Commenting on the awards, Sheikh Faisal, said: “I am honored to support this initiative and continue our partnership with Qatar University, a leading first-class educational institution. Plans for transforming the nation’s healthcare have their roots in the Qatar National Vision 2030 and its Human Development Pillar. The Qatar National Health Strategy 2011-2016 is designed to ensure that the population will enjoy world-class treatment and I am proud that Ebn Sina Medical is taking a role in the realization of this strategy. I wish the students all the best and I am sure that they will add great value to our community.”

Eman and Sadaf mirrored the feelings of appreciation by all the students of Sheikh Faisal’s generosity and the support and guidance of the College and faculty. “This is an invaluable opportunity for me to advance my dream of a future in the healthcare sector in Qatar and join my colleagues in contributing to the country’s national health strategies,” Eman said. “In winning this scholarship, I am conscious of the quality and excellence of the education we are receiving at the College and I would encourage high school girls to consider pursuing a career in pharmacy,” Sadaf said.

Special guest at the ceremony was Dr Shaikha Jabor Al-Naimi, CPH alumnus and a clinical pharmacist at the Neonatal Unit at Women’s Hospital. A former Dean’s List recipient, she encouraged the students to keep their goals in focus towards success. “Small successes lead to big success,” she said.

Applauding the students’ achievement, Dr El-Kadi said, “The College of Pharmacy spares no effort to ensure that you are well- equipped with the knowledge and experience to enter a career in pharmacy among the number of healthcare professionals who will contribute to the goals and values of the national development strategies. As we celebrate your commitment and dedication, we look forward to welcoming a new batch of students to our programs who will follow in your footsteps.”